Almost Home

Standard

(Drum roll please) Here are the pics of DJ’s really-close-to-being-totally-finished room. Except for some minor floor repairs and the rug, we’re pretty much done. Yes, I said floor repairs…it’s the room that just keeps on giving, but we’re really happy with how it turned out.

We’re finally down to the last few days before we head across the country to bring DJ home. The nervous energy that I was feeling for the last week or so has morphed into an eerie calm of sorts. All of my lists that I’ve been working on for the past few months have gradually gotten shorter & shorter. More importantly, I’m also starting to accept the fact that we’ll never be completely ready for this momentous event that’s going to change our lives forever. Instead of sheer panic, however, there’s just this strong pull willing me through the minutes, hours, & days until I meet my son face-to-face for the first time.

Since most of the work has been finished on the room, we spent a fair amount of time this week working on what we call the “DJ Plan.” Basically, trying to sketch out a daily routine for him and to finalize our “house rules,” including things like chores, allowance, and screen time. Of course, I made the mistake of looking on Pinterest for ideas for a chore chart. Suddenly, my little black-and-white chart made on Word felt pretty uninspired. Fortunately for me, I have a big sister who kindly told me that sometimes a particular version of her chore chart doesn’t last more than a week. Since she’s one of the most creative (and all-around amazing) moms that I know, her reassurance made me feel a lot better!

As instructed in our adoption classes, we also wanted to have a short list of rules that we could give to DJ right away to help him transition into our home. Here’s what we came up with:

  1. Respect yourself
  2. Be kind
  3. Be honest
  4. Be gentle with the dogs

As for Rule #1, we mean it to include things like daily hygiene as well as helping him to develop a healthy self esteem. Anyone who knows us probably guessed that rules #2 and #3 were mine and John’s respectively. Kindness is a big deal to me; it’s free, it takes relatively little effort, and it makes people feel good…what more could you ask for? For John, honestly is extremely important. We really want to create the type of environment for DJ that he’ll feel comfortable enough to be honest with us, even with the hard stuff that we might not “want” to hear but should.

I’ve also been researching summer learning activites, which has been even more intimidating than the chore charts. Being a college professor who is used to explaining to students that I’m not here to entertain them, I feel woefully unqualified to develop a fun curriculum for a 4th grader. (Although the fact that I just debated curricula vs. curriculum for several seconds makes me wonder if I’m still qualified to be a professor.) Anyway, I’m already planning numerous trips to all of the local museums…that counts as educational, right?

I’m also hoping to implement a regular reading time everyday in addition to reading with DJ before bed. In fact, going to the library is one of the things at the top of my list of summer activities–and yes, there’s really a list. Maybe I’ll include it in an upcoming post if anyone is curious or just wants to help make sure that I check everything off.

After years of waiting for this moment, it’s really hard to believe that it’s real. In fact, I’m so excited that I’m half-concerned that this entire post is gibberish. But whether I can wrap my head around it or not, it’s almost time to stop all of the planning and get down to the nitty gritty like packing and cleaning our house for the pet sitter. Actually, knowing us, it’s probably a bit past that time, and there will be quite a frenzy of activity between now & getting on the plane. (I love that our family & friends have been dropping little hints by asking us if we’re packed yet. LOL!)

To my kind readers who have been following our story: life is about to become fairly hectic, but I’ll do my best to update the blog in the not-too-distant future. The exciting part is that the next time that you hear from me, I’ll be a M-O-M. Let the real adventures begin!

5 responses »

  1. This is so very exciting! Remember…even if you’re going through challenging times, struggling to adjust, or simply aren’t sure what the heck is going on, anything you post will allow you to process it in a different way and hopefully find support and suggestions from your readers. It takes a village! Good luck!

  2. With regards to summer activities, just keep in mind that it doesn’t ALL have to be “educational”; it’s necessary to have fun and be silly. It is easy for adults to forget about the “silly” part, but it is just as important as the learning part. In fact I’d say that there is a definite Minimum Daily Requirement for “Silly”!
    Go for it!

Leave a Reply

