What Comes Next

Standard

To our great surprise, John and I found out last week that DJ was told about us and that we’ll be coming out to Oregon to adopt him! We thought that the case worker was going to wait until all of the paperwork was taken care of–that’s still several weeks away–but I guess she felt confident enough to share with him. She also showed him our picture album, but he’s not ready to talk to us on the phone yet.

I can only imagine what a scary and exciting time this must be for him. I just wish that I could be there to tell him that everything’s going to be okay. That someday he’s going to love all of the great people who are about to come into his life and that he’s going to have a mom and dad that are going to keep him safe and love him forever.

It’s hard not to feel a little frustrated about the extra challenges of an interstate adoption, especially from one side of the country to the other. But the long adoption process has taught me so much about faith and patience that I’m just going to have to continue to rely on those lessons.

Since so many of you have been asking, the tentative plan is that we’ll fly out after DJ’s school year ends (I’m selfishly hoping that it is early June and not late June, but we have no idea) and spend about a week in Oregon. We’ll probably spend the first day visiting with him and his foster family then work up to spending time with just him and then eventually he’ll spend the night with us in our hotel.

On some absurd level, the whole situation reminds me of meeting my college roommate for the first time. Here is this person, this total stranger, who I’m going to be living with for the next ten months. They will be privy to all of my personal habits and idiosyncrasies; they will become an intimate part of my everyday life. Of course in this case, we’re hoping it’s closer to the next ten years, not ten months, but you get the point. I’m also hoping that Dominick doesn’t show up with a poster of a unicorn standing underneath a rainbow that he’ll insist upon hanging up in his room. But if he does, I’ll just grin and bear it…again.

Sorry for the short post, but I’ll try to make up for it by posting a little sooner next time. In the meantime, if folks have any specific questions about the adoption process up to this point or even funny stories about meeting their college roommates, feel free to share in the comments! A big thanks to all of you who have been reading along and sharing our journey.

5 responses »

  1. While it’s harder on you, it’s great that you will wait for him to finish the school year – it’ll be great to have the summer to bond as a family without having to worry about school schedule. I can tell you about the first time we saw Eddie in person, and this is where adoption has it all over birth – when we saw each other for the first time, Eddie smiled at us and reach out for a big hug! No newborns do that. Still brings tears of joy to my eyes when I remember that first smile (in person, we’d seen pictures). Can’t wait to hear more of your story!

Leave a Reply

